#15daysofwritingtrue

Lesson 4 : Wandering wallflower

Almost everyday, I need to drive at least 120 kms. I live in Laguna, and I work in Ortigas. On top of this, I do field work more than 50% of my work time so that’s maybe another 50-100kms more everyday, and yes, more time spent sitting on the car, staring at the plate number of the car in front of me in the middle of the Manila traffic.  On days like this though, when I am almost done with my “urgents” at work, I slow down. I go to a place half an hour drive from our house, and do some admins. It’s my form of break. I spend time thinking what to do next with my projects, which customers to approach, what strategy to do. It’s actually like a planning time for me before I embark again to the never ending leg work of this career. Other days, I plan our family vacation, search for possible business or investment opportunity, or look for other things to do. This is what I called – self calibration. Finding where I am now, and bringing myself back to my original self.

I look at people around, and I wonder, what they are thinking, where are they going, what makes them happy, what struggles do they have, what motivates them every morning. Yes, I think a lot, unnecessarily. Maybe that’s why, I kind of “trained” myself to “dedma” the issues around – it’s because when I think about it, I will go crazy trying to understand it, and it frustrates me when I don’t understand. My husband told me, “You don’t need to understand, maybe not now, not right away, you just need to accept it, and trust that your will understand it eventually why it happened.” People live by trust, and faith and acceptance, and hope – not by knowing and understanding. Our world indeed is full of unknowns. Right now I guess, more importantly, is we understand ourselves – our soul, our faith, who we are.

 

Leave a comment